Life with a new baby

Oh I have so much I want to say, so many blog post ideas.  Here is reality:

I don’t get that much time to be able to sit down and actually type.  I have plenty of time to read a hundred different things while I sit and nurse, but if I type it is often one-handed.  A facebook update, a quick email reply, or a short forum post is about as much as I can manage.

It isn’t that I don’t have any time with both my hands free.  It is just that when I do I have a few choices: sleep, shower, eat, cook, spend time with E so he doesn’t feel neglected, spend time with M so our marriage does not become neglected, try and do some housework so I don’t feel useless (this is a problem for me), play with the cat so she doesn’t get too crazy…

Things like knitting and blogging get shoved to the bottom.

I don’t worry about it too much, I know that I will get those things back in time.  I have to shelve some of my activities for awhile and as my baby grows older I’m able to slowly pick things back up.  I think I knew that last time, it just seemed like it would be forever before it actually happened.  Now I realize how short of a time it really will be before I can make time for certain things again.

The problem with the blogging is that, as I said, I have so many things I would love to blog about and by the time I’m able to sit down and type them up the moment has passed.

In the meantime, I will give an update on my (non-existent) knitting.  I totally failed at the knitting during the Olympics.  I got the cuff to one sleeve of I’s sweater done.  That is 12 rows of ribbing.  Woo-hoo.  Did I mention that I finished E’s sweater?  I finished it the night before I had little I.  It still isn’t blocked.  Maybe that should be my goal for the week: block E’s sweater and take a picture so I can post it here and on Ravelry.

I actually have managed to knit one thing since I has been born.  I’ve completed another bib.  I bought a couple more skeins of cotton at JoAnn’s a week or so before I was born to give myself something quick and mindless to work on while I was waiting to go into labor for real.  I finished up the first bib, but the second was knit entirely after his birth.  It stayed up in the playroom and I would get a few rows here and there while he slept for a few minutes before E woke him up with his noisy 2-yo play or while he laid on a blanket on the floor and had some tummy time.  It is just  a simple garter stitch bib (from Mason Dixon Knitting) and it took me about 3 or 4 weeks to complete, but it feels like such an accomplishment.  Although I’m not sure it is technically done.  I haven’t weaved in ends or sewn a button on yet.  I should get on that too.

Leave a Reply

